I don’t think I’m a picky eater. I will try almost anything, provided it smells all right and doesn’t look like someone else already digested it (except honey). I could ask my mother, but I don’t remember being a picky eater as a child, either. I vaguely remember an instance with marshmallows and a cousin that flat our refused to try them. I, on the other hand, probably ate too many.
You know what, I changed my mind. I am a picky eater. Or, rather, I am a choosy eater. I know what I want and to some the laundry list of things I avoid is considered “picky”. I prefer to call it sensible. I avoid dairy, soft drinks, and Stuff I Don’t Like, including but not limited to: olives. I really don’t like olives. My family has made fun of me for this, because apparently that’s shameful.
I have, however, tried olives in several shapes and forms. I still think they taste gross. But I tried them, and trying foods is my raison d’etre. In that spirit, here’s my post dedicated to weird/unpopular foods you should try.
Tofu’s fermented cousin. Tofu alone has plenty of connotations, primarily from the hippie-hating set. I don’t mind tofu. It’s a fairly simple way to add nutrients into your diet and either replace some meat or cut it out entirely. It is, though, a weird texture and I much prefer the crunchy-not-spongy tempeh. In the same manner as tofu, tempeh takes on pretty much whatever flavor you want it to, though I tend to stick with olive oil and a dash of herbs. Tempeh serves up protein, fiber, and antioxidants in an easy-to-digest fermented package.
I only just bought some of this, so I’m not exactly the authority on it. A book I’m reading on herbal remedies for stress and anxiety recommended nutritional yeast as a dietary supplement since it is, as the name implies, full of nutrition. In particular, it’s got B-vitamins, folic acid, selenium, zinc, and protein, and is low in fat and gluten free. From what I understand, it can be added to pretty much anything, particularly as a thickening agent. I sprinkled it on top of my salad, which is definitely strange, but I ate it and it tasted good so idc. Also worth noting: this is not what’s used to make bread, nor is it involved with beer. Same idea, but different.
I should note that I am not a vegetarian, nor do I prescribe to any particular dietary plans (looking at you, paleo/gluten free/whatever else). I just like weird, healthy food. And the occasional steak.